I'll be at EHI Live talking about open platforms

I'm pleased to be attending EHI Live on October 31 to speak briefly about the importance of open platforms, OpenEHR, FHIR and the Apperta Foundation's 5 Nations Clinical Modelling Sub-group where I represent NWIS alongside Dr Mark Wardle. The group are colloquially called the 5NCKM...not the catchiest moniker but in essence we are there to see if there is something tangible that can be done from the perspective of all home nations and Ireland to progress interoperability. Personally I'd call us the British and Irish Lions...

The exciting thing about the group is this desire to take things like the InterOpen Care Connect Profiles and achieve cross border consensus for key archetypes such as adverse reactions, smoking and alcohol status. These archetypes are commonly referenced but more importantly commonly repeated facets of the electric record. We're also not wedded to one platform and seek to prove the efficacy of a variety of tools (of which OpenEHR is but one).

I'll be drawing on my tabloid-esque "FHIR vs OpenEHR" blog post to explore the misinformation within the community about these technologies, and how the interoperability triumvirate of FHIR, OpenEHR and Snomed CT can be used to make progress on the road to semantic understanding of clinical data. I'll spoil the punchline for you though...there's no killer app. Yet.

Being Hallowe'en I am considering a costume. Suggestions on Twitter more than welcomed. See you at EHI!